Canadian life: Nova Scotia through Dutch eyes

A new blog

Having been in a country for 1,5 months is a bit of an arbitrary milestone, but a milestone nonetheless. By now, I’ve gotten quite used to Canadian life, and I love it. Being on exchange is like travelling and learning, or studying and discovering; whichever way you want to describe it. That means that some days I go on trips, hikes and adventures, to explore Halifax and discover some amazing views. But on other days, I spend many hours in the library, working on an assignment or studying for a test. This diversity makes it complicated to update you about my life here across the Atlantic. I could talk forever about those adventures, but it does not make much sense to tell you about my walk home from uni, or what I learned in my sustainability classes (although I’m very passionate about them).

Instead, I decided to try a different spin on my Zambia blog and post short updates here. Because, although I’ve come to the point where NS now stands for Nova Scotia to me (rather than Nederlandse Spoorwegen), Halifax still continues to surprise me almost every day. Looking at this city as a Dutchie, many little things stand out to me; either as strange, amazing, weird, surprising, or beautiful. And since life is all about these little things, why not share them?

Ps. I’ll leave you with a fun fact that completely blew me away: NS (Nova Scotia, not the trains) is Canada’s second smallest province, accounting for 0.6% of the entire country. Yet, it is bigger than the Netherlands

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active